Skip to content

OnTap on Tour: Taylor Hicks & Other Musical Troubadours

Part 1 of 2:  Places I’ve Been
All photos and videos by Louise Uznanski for OnTapBlog

Travel is accomplished by bus, plane, car and van or a combination of all of these transportation modes. There are tweets about delays in the air and on the road.  Facebook posts asking fans if they know how to fix a bumper hitch on their van.  A scheduler with a little bit of larceny in his veins schedules an artist in Vermont one night and Virginia the next.  But, still they move around the country to play their music and it is what they love to do no matter the travel.

And this is not just a description of the artists who ply their trade throughout the country. It could be the story of their fans, too.  Musical troubadours make music and follow the music, too.  This is just one of those stories where Taylor Hicks and Little Memphis Orchestra leads the life like other independent artists who make the road their home.

From Alabama to Mississippi.  From Texas to Washington and back to Texas again, Taylor and his troupe of players took myself and his other fans on a journey of music.  With the promise of a familiar setlist done in a million different ways, Taylor took us from east to west by way of the south.  Always by way of the south.

Until their show in Deer Park, New York, Taylor made his way across the country followed by a contingent of fans.  These videos are taken from a traveler’s photo albums.  Someone who went on the journey, snapping the moments and capturing the music in split seconds of time.

Come back soon and check out part 2: Taylor Hicks from Deer Park, NY to Texas and other musicians who move us.

35 Comments Post a comment
  1. Linda T #

    Wow, I have no words, except brilliant. The combination of photos and music in the montage was exquisite, and elicited so many emotions form smiles to tears (the good ones). Thank you so much for this wonderful reminder of why we follow this amazing artist. I’m looking forward to the next installment!

    November 5, 2011
    • ontapblog #

      Thanks, Linda. I always appreciate your thoughtfulness. He is amazing. I’m looking forward to Taylor’s next installment. Mine will be coming soon! Thanks again, Linda.

      November 5, 2011
  2. Joyce #

    Oh, my, my, my! Words fail me! Terrific photos and the music was perfect. “Places —” has always been one of my
    very favorites — thank you so much for sharing!

    November 5, 2011
    • ontapblog #

      Thanks, Joyce. Places is a special song. And I never get tired of listening to it. Thanks again!

      November 5, 2011
  3. anne #

    WOW…just WOW…thank you so much for this wonderful gift…Love it!

    November 5, 2011
  4. jonibug #

    Only increased my excitement for the next tour and brought back some great memories as well. Great job, as always! So many amazing photos….love it!

    November 5, 2011
    • ontapblog #

      Thanks! Looking back does create excitement for the future. Just hope it gets here soon!

      November 6, 2011
  5. Am partial to the Black and Whites……….old school
    Thanks

    November 6, 2011
    • ontapblog #

      Thanks, Cath. Taylor does look good in black and white. More to follow, including B & W of other artists and Taylor.

      November 6, 2011
  6. karen #

    I can’t see video can u put it on utube for me to see….love the pictures!!

    November 6, 2011
    • ontapblog #

      I’m not sure why you cannot see the video on your computer, Karen. To put the video on an internet site will decrease the resolution of the photos so I prefer to leave it as is. Sorry.

      November 6, 2011
    • tishtx #

      Karen, I had problems viewing the video also. Try stating the video and the pausing it until it loads completely. I had to try several times, but was finally able to see the complete video. I hope you are able to get it to load that way. I know for some that have slower internet connections it is difficult sometimes.

      November 6, 2011
      • ontapblog #

        You’re right. The video does buffer until it loads. One time through usually does it. I don’t know why; maybe the length or connection. Thanks for your help, Tish.

        November 6, 2011
    • Louise #

      I’m looking at this site from work. Shhhhhhhhhhhh. Internet explorer used here and the video is not showing at all. Try switching to Firefox or Safari if you use a Mac computer. I can see it from home on a Mac on both Firefox and Safari.

      November 7, 2011
  7. Fantastic pics……….Beautiful soul.

    November 6, 2011
    • ontapblog #

      Thanks PB/Henry. And I agree: beautiful soul-man.

      November 6, 2011
  8. Absolutely beautiful! Has Taylor been sent a copy of this? I think he’d be quite proud 😉

    November 6, 2011
    • Louise #

      Thanks, ss1. I’m not sure if Taylor has seen this or not. Thanks for the compliment!

      November 7, 2011
  9. tishtx #

    I’m just a fan, not a talented fan, but a very lucky fan. I’ve been privileged to have been able to attend more than a few of Taylor’s concerts. I’ve been swept away by the joy and passion that he brings to the stage. I’ve been privileged to have been able to meet & chat with Taylor and his band mates a few times and thank them in person for bringing music back into my life. I have met many other wonderful, caring music fans at the concerts and expanded my knowledge and appreciation of music and musicians through those friendships. I know there are many fans here and abroad that have not had those experiences due to circumstances that have made it impossible to attend a concert. I want to thank you and your husband, as well as the many talented photographers, videographers and authors in Taylor’s fan base for using those talents and time to share the experience with everyone. What Taylor and his various band members do is not just give us an evening of music and fun, they give us joy and healing in our lives. To the musicians it is joy, but it is also a job. To the fans the concerts are events in their lives, events that are looked forward to for many months and sometimes years. For one evening, the music lifts us up and brings us great joy that sustains us through our daily lives. We are reminded of the beauty and joy that mankind is capable of sharing. And for some, it inspires them to make wonderful positive changes in their lives. Thank you for helping to spread the joy of the music.
    Tish

    November 6, 2011
    • ontapblog #

      Thank you, Tish. I appreciate your comments. Following the music and learning a creative art that is new to me has brought me a great deal of joy. Looking forward to more music, good times, good people and well deserved success for Taylor and the artists who work so hard to share what they love. Thanks again.

      November 7, 2011
  10. anne #

    Amen Tish…and along with the wonderful music..the blessings of new and wonderful friendships

    November 6, 2011
  11. My Oh My! Speechless,Just Speechless! This is just a FINE Art! The Photos, The Music,Runnign On Empty,then, Places!! My Oh My!

    November 6, 2011
    • ontapblog #

      Thank you, Bonnie. The music really makes the photos come alive. Thanks for your comments. Look for more!

      November 7, 2011
  12. Absolutely beautiful! Those pictures so captured Taylor in concert that it felt like I was right there in the audience. And the pictures of the band were breathtaking and captured the true love and feeling they have for their music. Can’t wait for part 2. Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!

    November 7, 2011
  13. ontapblog #

    Thank you, BonBon. Such a great band and they are wonderful people and I think that shows. Part 2 coming soon. Thanks again.

    November 7, 2011
  14. Tammy K #

    Wicked groovy! totally awesome!! fantabulous!!!! Thank you!!

    November 7, 2011
    • Louise #

      Wicked groovy! I like that! Thanks Tammy. I appreciate your comments.

      November 7, 2011
  15. Absoultely beautiful!!! What a treat, thanks 🙂

    November 7, 2011
    • Louise #

      You’re welcome. Thank you!

      November 7, 2011
  16. Thank you is just not adequate. You have a true gift with the camera and the written word and this post is an example of both. It gave me smiles and goosebumps. Thank you for sharing with me and thank God for putting people like you in my path.

    November 7, 2011
    • ontapblog #

      Thanks Jody. I’m rendered speechless by your kind and generous comments. Hope to see you again soon on the road.

      November 8, 2011
  17. san #

    Your pictures are always stunning!!! This is a beautiful collection. Thanks. Love your choice of Running on Empty!

    November 8, 2011
    • ontapblog #

      Thanks, San. I wish we could hear Taylor sing all of Running on Empty. That would be awesome.

      November 8, 2011
  18. Wow, Louise…I finally got to watch this all the way through. What a masterpiece! Taylor has a thousand looks and you captured them. The pictures are fantastic and you set them to the perfect music. I really enjoyed watching. Can’t wait for part 2. Thank you.

    November 9, 2011
  19. The many facets of Taylor Hicks! Excellent photos and music choices. Magnificent! Many thanks.

    November 9, 2011

Leave a Reply

