Skip to content

THE TAYLOR HICKS BAND HAS RUINED ME FOR OTHER BANDS

This post is kindly contributed by Caryl, with photo of The Taylor Hicks Band by Nolamar.

 

In the past month I’ve gone out on two separate nights to hear live music. Even though both bands were competent, I was bored. Both nights people got up to dance, hooted and cheered, clapped and stomped their feet, but I remained seated, uninspired.

I hate saying that. I’ve always been impressed and supportive of any musician brave enough to get up in public and perform. I know what it’s like to choke completely in front of a crowd. Granted I was only about eight years old and the crowd consisted of a few sweet old ladies and their Sunday school classes, but still! You don’t forget a humiliating walk away from the piano like that.

Since then I‘ve come to believe that any person who can get up and perform an entire song without blanking out (like I did) deserves lots and lots of applause. Believe me, I want to enjoy all live music. But when you’ve seen a band with the ’it’ factor, stood in the middle of a crowd as the music swells and you feel your chest will surely explode, it’s hard to appreciate a band that’s merely competent.

Due to a minor and uncharacteristic obsession, I’ve seen The Taylor Hicks Band perform more times than any other band. Though its members occasionally change, the one constant is their band leader who has a knack for assembling top notch musicians capable of reading his signals like a well-coached football team.

The most unappreciated winner of American Idol has the ability to move a crowd to tears, wild applause and dance. I’ve seen it. My most recent Taylor Hicks concert was at The Highline Ballroom in NYC. One song in particular got my attention and reminded me what it was about this singer that made him stand out on that show. He knows what he’s doing.

Performances like the one in the following video have spoiled me for the average local band who take the stage and merely play a song. God bless em, I know it’s not easy. But I don’t find myself remembering those shows, savoring the moments in my memory and longing to see them play again. This does:

This week marks the return of The Taylor Hicks Band to the northeast.  Look to the concert page in the blog header for information on shows in Connecticut, New York, and Vermont, scheduled from 9/15 thru 9/18.

9 Comments Post a comment
  1. Louise #

    Great blog, Caryl. While I do go to see other musicians and bands, Taylor has the ‘it’ factor especially with a full band. Can’t wait to see the northeastern tour that starts up tomorrow.

    September 14, 2010
  2. carole #

    I have never felt this way about a Singer and his Band before. I really liked Elvis, but nothing like Taylor. There is just something about him. His voice, his looks, his personality, his HARP and the way he moves when he is singing.
    And a first for me, knowing all the names of all the band members. Never before.
    Also, I love Taylor full band or just him and his guitar.
    Thanks so much for all the wonderful blogs you have given to Taylors fans.

    September 14, 2010
  3. tishtx #

    I understand completely. While there have been bands that I enjoy listening to, only a few have gotten me out of the house to see them live, and only Taylor Hicks has gotten me as a return customer. 🙂

    September 14, 2010
  4. NolaMar #

    Another really good piece! I went to a wedding in NY on Sat. The band was definitely “decent” but not memorable. We are all spoiled now. Haha! I do still thoroughly enjoy my favorite New Orleans bands though, and several others from outside the city. Yet Taylor Hicks is one of the few I would travel many hours by car to see.

    September 14, 2010
  5. Dee #

    I have to agree – I really like something about him… I drove 9 l/2 hours to see him – part of it in the snow..

    September 14, 2010
  6. Barbie-flausa #

    great article…would you post this on facebook??? I have many friends in the NE there I’d like to share that dont tweet. Thanks.

    September 14, 2010
  7. Ange Bleu #

    AMEN! I like everything about him – his looks, his personality, his body, his singing – everything.

    September 14, 2010
  8. Barbie-flausa: Thank you for your comment! If you like, the following link can be used to share this article: http://bit.ly/d1CagU

    September 14, 2010
  9. SegerHicks #

    I agree one billion percent.

    September 20, 2010

Leave a Reply

