Skip to content

OnTap On Tour: Taylor Hicks & Other Musical Troubadours II

GreensburgTHNBlog-8

Part 2 of 2: Takin’ Off Today
by Louise Uznanski for OnTapBlog

Lyrics: Takin’ Off by Adam Ezra

You’re a rag-top angel, you’re amazing grace
Time to gamble on the life we chase

Take a last look out on
Turn the keys and we’re gone
Who cares if monday there’ll be hell to pay
We’ve got miles to go and I will drive it slow and
We are takin off today
We’re takin off

The venue is booked and tickets go on sale.

The tour schedule comes out and the band criss-crosses the country.

The bus is packed after rehearsing the songs in the set list for the hundredth time.

Cowbells, drums, harps, guitars and keyboards and unfrosted PopTarts are wheeled into another venue in another state.

The doors open, the opening act comes on late, the headliner even later. But, you’re there and you know it won’t be long.

Takin’ Off. Time to gamble on the life we chase.

We’re Takin’ Off …..Today.

Above has been a glimpse into the artist’s perspective as they pursue a dream.

This video is one fan’s perspective of a priceless journey……

15 Comments Post a comment
  1. caryl #

    I really like that first song. Especially the line, “Time to gamble on the life we chase.” Great photos. Nice job!

    November 10, 2011
    • ontapblog #

      Thanks, caryl!

      November 10, 2011
  2. tishtx #

    Wow, what a memorable year you have had following the troubadours. :-) Loved the picture of Mitch Jones by himself, I think that’s the best one I’ve ever seen of him.

    November 10, 2011
    • ontapblog #

      Thanks! I only saw Mitch twice. Lucky to get him the one minute he was in between numbers!

      November 10, 2011
  3. Tammy K #

    ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS!!!! Thank you!

    November 10, 2011
  4. I have spent the last few hours reading the Grand Jury report of the Penn State sex scandal, and various news reports. It made me ill, angry, and my universe was tilted. I then saw that you had put part 2 of the musical troubadors up and I let your pictures and the music you paired with them soothe my soul, bring to me a little peace in the horror of the words I have read today. Thank you for this gift.

    November 10, 2011
    • ontapblog #

      Ugh. I read that report, too. Sorry I did. Sick. Where there is music there is love. Never truer than these days. Thanks, Legacy.

      November 10, 2011
  5. san #

    This is a beautiful retrieve from a disturbing day! Thanks for more stunning pictures and music to take us on…chasing this life we love!

    November 10, 2011
    • ontapblog #

      Thanks so much. So glad you are being soothed by the music.

      November 10, 2011
  6. jonibug #

    Oh, so very, very nice!

    November 10, 2011
    • ontapblog #

      Thanks, Joanie. Hope to be soon takin’ off for another show!

      November 11, 2011
  7. Linda T #

    I’ve been having some internet connection problems the last few days (outdated DSL router, soon to be replaced), so it took me a while to get to this. Even so, I had to stop several times during the video to allow it to buffer. I’m so glad I made the effort though, and slowing down allowed me to look even more deeply at these amazing pictures. That one of Taylor playing his guitar so intensely at the very beginning is stunning, and I also have a special fondness for some of the Avett Brothers photos because it takes me back to joyous memories of seeing them live in Maine this year. What a year it’s been for traveling to see the troubadours hasn’t it? Thank you so much for sharing your talent and your photos with all of us so we can enjoy it as well. I look forward to what troubadours may come in 2012!

    November 11, 2011
  8. ontapblog #

    Thanks, Linda. I’m glad you were able to see the video finally. The Avett Bros. are awesome. So glad I got to see them live. Thanks again.

    November 11, 2011
    • Connie Simpson (cls) #

      I’m always blown away by your photography. Thanks so so much for sharing your beautiful creative works of art. Hope to see you down the road in 2012…..

      November 12, 2011
      • ontapblog #

        Thanks so much, Connie. My pleasure. I hope to see you and Taylor in 2012, the sooner the better. Thanks again.

        November 12, 2011

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 111 other followers

