Skip to content

An Open Letter to Bryan Adams

Dear Bryan Adams,

I don’t blame you.  After all, how could you have realized the sincerity of my effort; how could you have seen the heart, the soul that I poured into every keystroke?

No online contest could capture the devotion of a true fan, and so tonight someone else is cradling between their palms the autographed album that should have been mine.  Their hands are probably sweating all over your Bare Bones, but I’m not bitter, Bryan Adams, not at all.

On Monday, Bryan Adams, I typed my contest entry while I sang “Heaven” with you.  Then I sang the harmony.  Then I alternated line by line between the melody and the harmony until my housemates ran screaming from the room.  I may have to move out, Bryan Adams, but it’s not your fault.

On Tuesday, Bryan Adams, I looked at photographs while I sat at the computer.  I shook my head in awe at your talent.  I admired your photograph of Sting, and I realized that the large bags under his eyes, the deep furrow of his brow, his receding hairline only add character to the picture.  (Just to note, Bryan Adams, in the unlikely event that you ever snap my photo, I prefer “airbrushed” to “character”.)

Wednesday, Bryan Adams, I wrote a haiku for you before I hit the enter key.  Yes, I could have written full verse and in iambic pentameter, but let’s be honest.  You’re busy, I’m busy; I felt that seventeen syllables adequately conveyed my meaning.

If you sign Bare Bones

and even if you scribble

No Ebay for me!

On Thursday, Bryan Adams, I reviewed your concert schedule.  Somehow, despite shows all over North America, Europe, and Asia, your tour still bypasses my city this spring.  I don’t like to think that you’re avoiding me, but I have to be honest.  It cuts like a knife.  Wistfully, I submitted yet another contest entry, but was forced to admit that it just won’t be a party this year, not if you can’t come around.

I was late for work on Friday, Bryan Adams.  I emerged dripping from the shower.  Steam filled the room and clouded my reflection in the mirror.  I rushed to the computer.  Tiny rivulets of water ran insistently from my wet, matted hair down the slow, smooth curve of my neck to that point low on my left chest where the towel had been carelessly knotted.  A faint, albeit musical, gasp emerged from my parted lips as I felt the knot release.  Right hand on the keyboard, I waved uselessly at the towel with my left until………………………..until I came to my senses, Bryan Adams.  After all, who lets an imported 100% Pima cotton towel hit the floor?  Not me, Bryan Adams, certainly not me.

No, you are not to blame for the inadequacy of online contests, Bryan Adams.  I hope you understand, though, that not all entries are created equal.  Some reflect heart, soul, and even a damp towel, all invested in The Right Place.

                                                    Sincerely,

                                                    A fan

___________________________________________________________________________________________________

To purchase Bryan Adams’ new LIVE acoustic album “Bare Bones”:  http://amzn.to/eEpuE1

For Bryan Adams news, media, and tour dates: http://www.bryanadams.com/

I am not bitter.

17 Comments Post a comment
  1. medolark #

    Excellent….kudos. Ü

    January 14, 2011
    • Thank you, medolark. What’s interesting about this new cd is that the compilation was made after fans requested a live album; songs were selected for inclusion based on fan “tweets” to @bryanadams!

      January 14, 2011
  2. Louise #

    Fabulous!

    January 14, 2011
    • Thanks, Louise. Bryan comes close this spring, just not quite close enough. He’ll be doing festivals in Europe this summer. Wanna go?

      January 14, 2011
  3. hicksfan7 #

    what a GREAT way to select songs for a Live CD!!

    January 14, 2011
    • Isn’t it? I think the songs were selected, and then the favorite live performance of each song was chosen from among several concert dates to include on the cd.

      January 14, 2011
  4. Haha! Nicely done! Your entry must have gotten lost somehow- you were meant to win.

    January 14, 2011
    • I am haunted by the thought that my entries may have met the circular file, or is that the “trash” icon?

      January 14, 2011
  5. hicksfan7 #

    There is a certain awesome performer that could/WOULD benefit from putting together a Live CD in this fashion…..I would be happy to vote for tunes! LOL

    January 14, 2011
  6. Louise #

    Yes, I’ll go Holley. “Runs to look up tour schedule now.”

    I would kill for a live TH CD. He would make a killing on it if a DVD went along with it!

    Thanks again for the great writing. I think you should have won, too.

    January 15, 2011
  7. juliegr #

    Dripping water

    Falling towel

    All is wet

    What now?
    ~~~~~~~~~~
    Haiku response

    January 15, 2011
  8. Medolark #

    I 2 have wanted our Soulman 2 do a live cd. The concerts this last year were the best ever since he had his ‘guys’ playing with him again.

    January 15, 2011
    • Would be nice; I’d like to see a few of the songs from earlier albums included, too.

      January 15, 2011
  9. hicksfan7 #

    First vote? (my head spins thinking of it) but I will give my first vote to HOTYL – he ALWAYS takes that song to other places…and blows me away by the end of it. I used to (jokingly) call it “Hold on to Your Lyrics!: hahah

    January 16, 2011
  10. Pattie Akatyszewski #

    Hi Brian,want to thank you for a beautiful performance that you gave Boston on Friday night December 6th!,…what a great Gift God gave to you ,that voice and talent! just wanted to mention the humor,Benny the cat ,..Lmao that was my husband John that made the coment about the cat and you almost couldn’t start your next song ,..glad he could make you laugh! Thank you so much , see you next time you come to Boston GOD BLESS!

    December 9, 2013

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 111 other followers

